A tiny dollhouse

Due to the changes in my life recently I am out of my rythm. No, I need to find my new rythm. I had thought that, when I would get so much more free time I would produce artwork after artwork. But the truth is I make as good as nothing. I have made two pieces. I look at them, don’t know if I like them or hate them, don’t know if they are finished or not.
I have discovered that I do paint in 2 different ways. One is that I have clearly in mind what I want to make, I start and I make it ( though seldomly halfway I decide to a change of plan).
The second way is that I calm myself to a deep serenity and then I let the flow come. I paint as if in trance.

But none of these, those days.

If in a frenzy to make something it becomes bad. Serenity is far from me. I feel so restless and so tired in the mean time that I sometimes sit at the kitchentable  and do a  few crosswords. And that while there is so much I realy need to do. And doing those crosswords is so very very useless. I like to see some production coming out of my hands. I want to be creative in all the time I can set aside for that.

Well, something did happen.
Because I will have to leave my beloved house ( no, I do not know yet when) I am getting rid of unused or too bulky stuff. I try to sell things because I realy need the money. So I sold my big dollhouse. It was scale 1:12, had 3 floors,6 rooms including a big kitchen. And everything one could find in an ordinary house could be found in this dollhouse, including games in a cabinet, books with real pictures, a computer in fathers den and so much more.

I made it in the pre-digital years, so I can not show you a picture here.

But to be able to sell the house to someone who would realy appreciate it I became a member of some dollhouse-groups on Facebook ( Dutch ones). And there I did discover something new. Nowadays there are dollhouses scale 1: 24 and even 1:48 ! Wow.

So I became creative again. I did build a new dollhouse. 1:48. It’s width is only 19 cm’s, from a floor to a ceiling it is 5 cm high ( 2 inches). I show you pictures here.

I know it is not art, and I did somethings not right so the roof wouldn’t fit as it should. (And now I know I should have finished the inside including gluing in the furniture before I put the roof on it. 😉 )

I am now making the woman that must come to live in that dollhouse, she is 3,7 cm high. Very tiny, she looks more an orc than a human being.. hm, maybe I must dress her in a burka.

Do you do mini-productions sometimes?

outside

outside

IMG_0927

Making the screen betwwn bathroom and sleepingroom was the most time consuming thing

Making the screen between bathroom and sleepingroom was the most time consuming thing, making the flowers ( monnikskap) next best.

IMG_0933

2 thoughts on “A tiny dollhouse

Leave a Reply

