Leave through the leaf – and leaves book

Leave through the leaf – and leaves book.. in dutch that is Blader door het Blad en Bladeren Boek.

As you see, in English you have just Leaves and Leaf… in dutch there are 3 words: Blader, Blad, Bladeren. And of course after all those B’s there is the Book-B 😉 I like the alteration.

 

The urge to alter old books, I do not know where it comes from. But although only a month has passed since I finished(  The Dream ) De Droom I could not resist to start another.

 

Most of the time I only show here on this blog the finished books, but I did think maybe you like to see this book while it is ‘processed’. Part of that idea is that I make more pictures of this book to add them to the project #ARTIfacts. ( see here.)

 

As always  making this book started with tearing out a lot of pages, glueing them in bundles. This time I used alot of exsisting papers to keep those glued bundles together. Then I used invisible gesso to coat all the pages.

And the the fun started.

The first page:

img_1709The paper of the diecuts I first painted on paper, then I made a picture of the  paper and printed it out so the paper is very smooth and flat. I used Pitt Artist pens to write the words.

And more:

img_1707

I like to put some little jokes in my books:

img_1708Can you see it is a snail?

 

And ofcourse there are lots of leaves:

img_1706autumn-leaves

img_1704Green leaves with pressureembossing….

img_1705Flowers have leaves too ofcourse, later on I will add more flowers, but I first have to paint some more paper and diecut it.

img_1702And there are the fruits of trees and bushes

 

And the animals that live between leaves and twigs and trees and flowers…

img_1703

what do you think about leaving through this book so far?

Bewaren

6 thoughts on “Leave through the leaf – and leaves book

    • Hi PaperPuff, thanks for your comment.:)
      Yes I think fabulous comes from Latin and I think it also has to to with fable, a story that brings a lesson in ( of?) morality. I don’t mean to bring a lesson in this book, merely show my apreciation of the beauty in nature. I loved to draw this whimsical snail. I wanted it to be a happy snail, I looked online and noticed that most drawings of happy snails had added to them a pair of eyes in the head (and ofcourse they were big eyes because big eyes speak to human beings) and the real eyes were turned into a sort of little horns. And then I saw a calligraphed one and used that to draw one of my own. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Leave through the leaf – and leaves book (2) | Atelier Cécile

Leave a Reply

