Timeless # ARTIfacts 5

Inspired by many demo’s by Seth Apter ( see here)  I tried out how to make two ‘coherent’ papers, one for the background and one for diecutting, using the same colours on both papers, but making them different enough to make the diecut stand out from the background.

This came out off it and I like it. 🙂

Timeless

Timeless

Here I’ll show you some stages in the process.

First: layers of paint on both papers, meanwhile monopressing and letting the papers be  ‘kissed” ( see the demo-videos) :

img_1838Ofcourse I had to add a metallic, gold this time, but it hardly shows on this picture, so I show you 2 more in which the gold seems white:

img_1839 img_1840

Then stamping ( in black and red) and some splatters in white.

img_1841

From the blueish paper I made 2 diecuts:

img_1842I liked them both, but for contrast the lighter one was better.

I inked the backfound paper some more to give it a darker edge, then I glued on the diecut and an embellishment ( worked over with some ink in the colour red copper) and I used a stencil with black paint to add the word timeless.

(Dies, stencil and stamps all designed by Seth Apter).

I used a white sharpie to highlight the letters and circle the diecut and  used a white pencil to draw some borders and a black Pitt Marker to add some xxx and 0000.

Then the result was this:

img_1843

I didn’t like the white around the diecut and changed that to black, as can be seen in the first picture in this blog.

Would you have done the same or  left it white?

6 thoughts on “Timeless # ARTIfacts 5

  1. Pingback: Explore # ARTIfacts 6 | Atelier Cécile

Leave a Reply

